News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Finding parts

Started by WINGNUT308, June 10, 2024, 12:03:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WINGNUT308

Trying to repair 3 Bachmann 4-8-4 locos, mid to late '80's early 90's steamers.  They all have the 'pancake' style motors (white) and they are trashed.  Where can I locate 3 (or 4) of them, along with some replacement brushes and springs ?????  At 75(yo), I'm kinda new at this stuff........  Any help is appreciated, Thank you.

trainman203

In the model railroad Jurassic in a world of US made models, spare parts were always available from almost every manufacturer for almost every repair you could imagine.

That was then.  This is now.

Bachmann is better than almost everyone else at maintaining some semblance of parts availability, but with old models like the 4-8-4, the odds of finding there what you need are not very high.  You need to become accustomed to the present world of donor models, ie, finding ones to supply you with spare parts.  Often you can find them on online auctions with needs unrelated to your parts quest.  Or, You may find it easier just to buy used one that works well and keep the ones you presently have as donor pieces. 

This isn't such a bad thing.  Especially with the extra tenders you can sell online, people are always looking for them.  As far as the pancake motors go, I've never had a model with one, but I've heard nothing but bad things about them.  You might try developing your Model Railroad skills and try installing a new high quality can motor.

jward

I do not know much about the pancake motored steam locomotives. But if they are anything like the diesels, you're going to be much better off with something else. There's not much you can do to overcome the many shortcomings of this design, other than to find something better to put the old body shell on.