Bachmann Iron King HO Scale Electric Train Set questions...

Started by ajbruno, November 23, 2010, 01:35:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ajbruno

I am new to electric trains...we recently purchased the Bachmann Iron King HO Scale Electric Train set to run under the children's Christmas tree for our 5 year old grandson's enjoyment.  I know very little about setup and maintenance for these trains.  If he likes the train set, we may start to upgrade.  But for now, the set comes with 155 pieces and for our initial budget that is all we can get.

Do we need to set the tracks on a plywood surface in order to run?  Or can the tracks be laid upon a carpet directly?

what are some of the issues I should be aware of? 

Any guidance is appreciated.   Thank you.

hawaiiho

I would very strongly recommend against setting up HO track up on carpet.
Keeping the track level is just the beginning of the problems.
Fibers from the carpet are bound to get into the locomotives. Potential real problems.

My recommendation would be to go with plywood, however,  I have used 3/4" foam sheet which I painted to seal it.

Will

simkon

HO trains should not be run underneath live Christmas trees, because of debris and needles falling from the tree the track will get dirty very quickly, the needles and debris will likely block the track and cause a derailment, and the debris can get inside the locomotive and damage it. Secondly HO trains on the floor is also not a good idea especially if you have pets and small children or if you are setting up on a carpeted area. HO trains are much more fragile than O scale trains, so pets and small children can be detrimental because they may accidentally be stepped on or knocked over or become your pet's new favorite toy. It is best not to use any trains smaller than O scale under a Christmas tree, and G scale if it is a live Christmas tree.

hawaiiho

quote author=simkon link=topic=14934.msg119973#msg119973 date=1290541935]