News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Power Pack Product Code: 44212

Started by ofarrro, January 11, 2009, 05:52:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ofarrro

Hello,
I'm new to trains as a hobby and have a question regarding my power pack. How much track will this power pack support? I guess the amount of cars would play into it so figure? 

Yampa Bob

Power output to track is .7 ampere, enough for one or two locomotives with a few cars each.  Amount of track depends on how many feeder wires you are willing to add, recommended every 6 feet of track.  How big is your planned layout?
I know what I wrote, I don't need a quote
Rule Number One: It's Our Railroad.  Rule Number Two: Refer to Rule Number One.

Joe Satnik

Dear Bob,

0.7 Amps at how many DC Volts?

Is that what you measured or a printed spec?

Do you have any measurements or specs for the 44213 large scale controller?

Thanks. 

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

Yampa Bob

Hi Joe
Rating is maximum current available at 12V, from specs at Tower:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXEDV7&P=0

44213 is 1 ampere.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXGNR5&P=0

Guideline for running multiple locos in consist on DC power pack:

With 10 easy rolling cars, my locos average .28 amp single at full throttle, two in consist at .42 amp with no perceived reduction in speed.  Three in consist draws .56 amp at 3/4 speed, four in consist at .70 amp, but speed only about 1/2. (Tested on .8 amp Spectrum Magnum pack)

Hunt

The original content of this post has been deleted by a random test of a software macro.
                          Hunt

Yampa Bob