News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Reversable trains

Started by [email protected], September 25, 2024, 02:23:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

[email protected]

I am new to building layouts   and I am interested in getting a reversable track set up  My question is  to make the car go back and forth  you need reversable track  right  what about the trolly or car   do they have to be able to be used on that track or it is a special  car I need to buy?  or its the track itself  that reverses the polarity
Thank you

Dennis

trainman203

Bachmann had something like that once. Google is your friend.

Len

There are basically two types of 'back and fort' reversa operation tracks.

1. Bump and Go: Most often found in larger scales like S, O, and G where a trolley goes back and forth. The "fenders" on the trolley are designed to push in and throw a switch inside the trolley to reverse direction after it strucks a bumper on the end of the track. Does not work well for multiple car trains. Found on both AC and DC powered tracks.

2. Electronic Reversing: An electronic circuit is used to reverse the polarity of DC current on two rail track. A metal wheel bridging a gap in the rail is the most common triggering mechanism. Others are a photo detector or a magnet beneath a locomotive or car triggering a reed switch. Will work with a multiple car train if the track is long enough.

The Bachmann HO and On30 reversing trolleys are of the second type and use the gapped rail method of triggering. The extra wiring needed is hidden under the special "reversing" track that comes with the set. You need to purcahse the same type of special track to expand the track length.