News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

quick derailing coal car

Started by matrotto, October 26, 2012, 07:29:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

matrotto

I am new to model railroading and am having trouble keeping my train on the track. It seems that my coal car is  the culprit. It seems to leave the track first. Is there any way to adjust the track pressure on the car? I am puzzled because this train is for ages 12 and up and I am much older than that. The track is layed out on a 4 x 8 table on a solid 1 inch styrofoam base.

richg

Is this a hopper car or tender for a loco?
If a loco, are there wires between the loco and tender. Check the wires.
Some Bachmann tenders are known to be light on the front truck. Add weight in the tender at the front.
Look very carefully at the car when it is running.

Rich

sd24b

Quote from: matrotto on October 26, 2012, 07:29:40 PM
I am new to model railroading and am having trouble keeping my train on the track. It seems that my coal car is  the culprit. It seems to leave the track first. Is there any way to adjust the track pressure on the car? I am puzzled because this train is for ages 12 and up and I am much older than that. The track is layed out on a 4 x 8 table on a solid 1 inch styrofoam base.
check your track gauge and wheel gauge.  Also, what type of coupler are you using.  if it is a horn hook that could be the culprit.  Is this a body mount or truck mount coupler?  And it's relationship in the train.  Is the weighted?  Phil

rbryce1

Remember all those Christmas toys that stated on the box that they were easily assembled by a 6 year old?  Trouble was, I wasn't 6!   :)

One more thing to check, are you running it on a large enough radius?  I have some steam locos that the tender is the first to derail if I try and pass it through too tight a curve.  My Riverossi B & O  2-10-2 tender actually tries to tip over on an 18" curve.

matrotto